Now that the term has come to an end, I reflect and think of what I learned and liked from img_3898this class. From measuring to talking about cyber bullying, I have learned a lot about social media. I have come up with a list of five things that I found interesting and/or helpful and that I will hope to use in the future.

  1. How to use Facebook if you have an organization. I do not really use Facebook, so I did not really know a lot about it. After going to Nebraska Humane Society I learned a lot of interesting things on how they use it in a positive way. Nebraska Humane Society uses social media to raise awareness; they want to teach people about their company and with that attract donators and people to adopt pets. They do this by sharing real life stories like when a pet comes in and they want to introduce them to their followers, they ask others for help, about what the audience would like to see on their page, and while doing all of this they like to have fun. I really liked going there and learning about all the things that one needs to do in order to have a successful Facebook page. The work they do with their social media is excellent.
  2. Measuring, measuring and more measuring: Before this class, I knew nothing about how to measure. I find it really interesting how we can make a plan to improve our social media. I learned that it is important to understand the PESO model and setting a KPI because it helps to establish control over social media. It is really interesting learning how you can make your platform succeed in a world where there is a lot of competition.
  3. Compassion? Anyone?: Cyber bullying is one, if not the most, negative thing that has come with social media. However, learning about some people that suffered from it, like Monica Lewinsky, and how they turned their life around after a scandal is really amazing. After looking into cyberbullying more deeply I have come with the conclusion that social media is not the bad thing; we, the people that use it are. I believe that social media can be compassionate if we accept that everyone is different; everyone has a different point of view and voice. Public shaming keeps people away from using social media because people get scared that something like that can happen to them.
  4. I can describe myself in a sentence!: This blog assignment made me realize who I am as an indidual and what I really wanted to do in life. I am someone who helps others to love eachother and themselves while I am trying to love myself and accept others as they are, no matter their skin color or shape. img_1068
  5. SOCIAL MEDIA PLAN FOR ABIDE: If I had to choose only one thing that I really liked about this class, it would probably be making a social media plan for Abide Omaha. I have to admit that at first I was terrified to come up with a 3-month plan, but after learning about how to use social media succesfully, how to measure and what tools to use, coming up with a plan was pretty easy. This plan is one of the few things that I am really proud of doing. I cannot wait to implement a social media plan for my father’s company.

It is amazing that we learned all of these things and more, which brings me to something I wrote in my first blog of this class, and I realized that after four months I learned about everything that I talked about in that blog:

“I am really excited to take this class because I want to learn more about my… addiction. I want to learn about what makes something viral in social media, what makes a social network successful as well as other ways that social media changes us into different individuals. I also want to learn to use twitter better; more consciously. And everything that will make me understand how all the social media work.”

img_0760I am sad that the class is over, but I cannot wait to implement what I have learned. Thank you Dr. Z for being an amazing professor.

 

Leave a Reply

