“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” ” – Fred Rogers.

fred_rogers_late_1960sFred Rogers was a TV personality, who had his own TV show called Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood. This show was mainly for kids, but it was suitable for everyone. Here he covered an array of topics which he explained to children. Tom Junod wrote a profile of Rogers for Esquire talking about Rogers’ life. How he did his show and why he did it, why it is important to teach children some things and how important he was in the life of many.

This is the first time that a read a profile written like this and it is really interesting to see this. In journalism one is told that there should not be paragraphs in a story; each line should be maximum two sentences. However, this is not the case for this story; it has paragraphs, lots of them.

In this story, there is not a definite nut graf, but the reader immediately knows that he/she is going to read a profile. In the first paragraphs, Junod does not tell that he is talking about Rogers, so if the reader does not know about him they would not know who he is talking about. I personally did not know who Mr. Rogers was because I was not introduced to his show when I was younger. Back in the day in the Dominican Republic, we got a limited amount of shows from the United States and this was not one of the shows that we got. So, I had to google him and watch some of the episodes. To be honest, I do not think I would have liked this show because I lived for cartoons, and I was not really interested in watching a person and puppets. However, right now, at the age of 21, I believe that he touched on topics with a lot of importance; one of them being on the importance of being true to oneself.

I really liked how Junot wrote this; I do not know why but I found it funny and quirky. He captured his personality perfectly.I enjoyed reading about someone who was really important and it still is for the TV world. Junot shows that Rogers’ life was colorful and fascinating. He shows that Rogers’ life had its ups and downs but that he kept fighting for his goals. Rogers’ had a big heart, and passion for what he did and I believe that this profile shows just that.

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

